Paris – 1st March 2011

 

La Tour Eiffel

La Tour Eiffel!

As you might have guessed by now I made it to Paris! The train ride wasn’t bad – two and a half hours with 25 of those minutes underwater! – I was pretty sleepy (woke up at 5am to catch Eurostar) so I had an easier time dozing in and out.

I really hadn’t planned anything so at the last minute I bought one of those open bus tour tickets. If you only have a day in a city it’s probably one of the better options because it takes you to all of the different touristy places and you can hop on and off at your leisure but be sure to check when the last bus leaves from wherever you are!

I had originally purchased a ticket to climb the Eiffel Tower at 3pm but sadly I had to make sure I caught my connecting bus back to Gare du Nord (the train station) so I had to miss out on the actual climbing experience. BUT I made sure that most of my time was spent at the Eiffel Tower.

Which is pretty much what I did!

And it’s gorgeous! I don’t really think it hit me until I was there and seeing SO MANY PEOPLE taking pictures.

Oh and did I mention that it was freezing? No? I have no idea how that could have escaped me because it was very much freezing. Cold temperatures with even colder wind; I’m pretty sure it was colder than London to be honest. But it was worth it.

Thanks to the bus tour I got to see L’Arc de Triomphe, Cathedral de Notre Dame, Champs Elysees, Louvre.. and a bunch of other sights but what I kind of enjoyed the most was looking at the streets and people and cars… the everyday things that most probably don’t focus on while they are on holiday.

As much as I liked Paris I don’t think I’ll be coming back as a solo traveler. Next time, because there’s bound to be one, I would like to come with friends or a with a group of people. I think I would have had more fun that way. That and I’m pretty sure I psyched myself out that I became overwhelmed and nervous by it.

Oh but next time I’m definitely tackling that Metro, and visiting the Louvre (it was closed that day), and visiting the Cathedral…

What? Yes, I’m already making a list. 😉

This entry was posted in Eiffel tower, paris, ukFeb2011, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

